Posting Comments

Posted: August 26, 2011 in Uncategorized

Please share your thoughts on the Abe books with your fellow Red Devils! You can post your comments by clicking on the “talk bubble” to the right of each individual book’s title. Not sure what to comment on? Here are some questions to consider:

1) Before you read the book: Why did you choose this particular book from the Abe list?

2) While you are reading the book: Do you relate to the characters in your book? Why or why not?

3) Once you have finished the book, share your opinion: Do you think it was worthy of being on this year’s Abe list? Tell us why.

4) Tell us why you did or did not like the book. It’s OK to say you don’t like a book, but please use appropriate language.

If you feel comfortable doing so, before you submit your comment for publication, add your name and year of graduation. We will publish unsigned comments, but if you leave your name, you might open yourself up to a dialogue with other Red Devils. Finally, all comments will be reviewed by library staff before being published on the Awesome Abe Blog, so please remember to be polite. Thank you and have fun!

Comments
  1. Maggie Jablonski: Saunders English 3, Second Period- Reality Check says:

    1. I got this book from the library. I was in a hurry so i grabbed the first book I saw that was on my list. I opened the book and read the inside cover. It was intriguing to me so I decided to read that book.

    2. I don’t relate to the characters too much. Cody plays football and his father is a single parent and alcoholic. I have neither brothers and my parents are still together. Cody also doesn’t try very much in school at all and his whole world revolves around football. I play soccer but i have other focuses in my life as well. I also do try in school too.

    3. I do think this book deserves to be on the Abe list. I is about high school kids which we are. It is also quite interesting throughout most of the book. Though on the other hand I didn’t find the topic that easy to relate to. Because the odds of someone getting kidnapped after going to boarding school and breaking up with their boyfriend is really slim to none.

    4. Yes I liked the book. I am a big fan of books that are dramatic which this was. I also like books with a love relationship problem. I find these two things mixed create a descent plot. Therefore, the book was pretty good in my opinion.

    • Hannah Lindsey says:

      Hannah Lindsey
      Period 2 Williams

      I chose the book Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen. I chose it because many of my friends have read it and recommended it. When I read the inside cover it really intrigued me to read the book. I think Jacob’s story is different than many other novels usually or predictable plots. I definitely can’t figure this book out. Also, his story of going from being completely poor to realizing he has to find something to do to make a living, which ends up being in the circus, could be a very inspiring story that will draw me in. I’m really looking forward to reading this novel.

  2. Harley Pranger says:

    Harley Pranger
    P-2
    Williams
    I picked the book Wake by, Lisa McMann. This book is about a girl who seems to be lost in a world of dreams. She seems very confused and discombobulated. I think this novel will be very suspenceful, and there will be a puzzle that the main character must solve to get home safe. I am excited to read this book and to join the main character on her adventure.

  3. Jack Ahern says:

    Jack Ahern
    P-2
    Williams
    I chose Columbine by Dave Cullen. This book is about one worst tragedies of the past twenty years. On April 20, 1999, two young men went to Columbine High School in Colorado and killed twelve students and one teacher. This book shows what made the kids do it and what type of toll it has taken on America. I’m interested to see why they would do such a horrible crime.

  4. Mike Krohn- Mrs. Williams says:

    Mike Krohn
    P-2
    Williams

    I chose the book Columbine by David Cullen because I was interested in the topic. I know that the media really must’ve stretched the truth a bit. I wanted to hear the true story with accurate details. This is a true story about a horrific tragedy and I don’t usually enjoy non-fiction books but I’m hoping that this one will change my mind. Thanks for reading!

  5. Nick Koldras says:

    Nick Koldras
    P-2
    Williams
    The book I chose which received an Abe award was Why I Fight, by J. Adams Oaks. The reason I chose this book is because out of all of the summaries I read, it was the one that appealed to me the most. In my opinion, the topic of fighting is one that may interest a lot of guys. There also seems to be an element of the main character, Wyatt Reeve, running away from something, and I’m curious to find out what that is. Could it be that he was responsible for starting his house on fire, and why does he mention confronting his parents one last time. Being on the road and making a living by fighting cannot be easy. I’m curious to see how Wyatt and his uncle survived.

  6. Sheerin Fathizadeh says:

    Sheerin Fathizadeh
    p-2
    Williams
    I chose the book Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen. This book is about a love story twisted within the Circus during the Great Depression. I chose this book because it seemed to have a different twist in it that i haven’t seen before. The book was also recently turned into a movie which makes me believe it had great reviews. I have heard so much about this book and its love story and have wanted to read it myself. Water by Elephants seems to be a very good and different book that I am looking to explore.

  7. Taimoor Rathore says:

    Taimoor Rathore
    P-2
    Williams
    i chose the book Reality Check. I chose thsi book because I thought Icould easily relate to it. Iplayed football for three years so I thought I could realte to Cody and the things he passionate aobut in life. Cody suffered from a devastating injury that jepordized his career. Likewise one of my good friends tore his ACL and ended up missing the entire season. He was our best player and had hopes of playing college ball. I wanted to see how Cody would deal with his life changing injury.

  8. This book was very good. But, some parts dragged on. The whole book was based on a very sad topic. I recommend this book to anybody who can handle a sad book.

  9. Andrea Gurke says:

    Andrea Gurke, English 1, Mrs. Billie’s class period 9- I read The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins and I absolutely loved it. Before I read it, I thought “Who in their right mind would write about kids killing each other?” but after reading the book, it’s so much more then a battle. My friend recommended it to me and it seemed interesting so I read it. This book is definitely worthy of being on the Abe list because it’s the right amount of romance and suspense. There were sweet, touching moments and then there were moments I worried about what will happen next to the characters. I loved it and will most definitely read the next two books.

  10. Thomas Shawaker, Mrs. Billie 6/8 says:

    I chose this book bercause the title made the book seem very interseting, and the preview of the book kind of just pulled me into wanting to reading it. Plus I thought thwe topic was pretty interseting, so gave it a try. The verdict for me on this book is thast it was very interseting from page one till the last page. There was a nice amount of action so it kept wanting to read it. I would definitely recommend this book for someone.

  11. Krista Sutton says:

    Krista Sutton. English 1 Pd:6-8 Mrs.Billie
    i read the hunger games by suzanne collins. i heard about it quite a bit from alot of people. everyone says its a great book & it really is! when i first started reading the book, i thought it was extremly odd to think that people would be as currupt to make a game based off killing one another, then i later realized theres so much more to it. it is definatly worthy of being on the abe lincoln list. theres plenty of suspense that will keep you wanting to read more and a little bit of romance that will touch your heart.

  12. Madeline Zayed, English 1, Mrs. Billie’s class period 6/8. I read After by Amy Efaw because the plot of the story sounded interesting. I don’t think this book deserves to be on the Abe Licoln Book awards because the book kind of dragged on with the main character’s thoughts. The book is ok though. There could honestly be better books on this Abe Licoln list.

  13. Imad Khokher says:

    Imad Khokher, English 1, Mrs. Billie’s class period 4-5. I chose to read the book Compound by S.A Bodeen, because I’ve heard many of friends in the past who have read the book, and they said it was a very great book. I’ve heard from many people in the past say that this book is very suspenseful before the climax, and many of them told me that they were able to predict the ending due to incorporating all the foreshadowing they found in the book. I thought this book was a great read, because it had everything a great book would have. One of the things I liked in particular about this book was that it didn’t have too many characters, because I think books with too many random characters here and there can get very boring and confusing. I also loved the idea just about putting in a compound under ground, and I liked how the main character tried to figure out what his father was actually up to.

  14. Jazmine Mitts, Mrs. Billie's class period 6/8 says:

    I chose “The Maze Runner,” because before I read it the summery sound really interesting. To tell the turth I really did not like this book. It was slow paced and the chapters were very short. To some people it deserves to be on the Abe Lincoln Book awards but to me I think it should not be on the list.

  15. Owen Tweardy, English 1, Mrs Billie's class period 4/5 says:

    I chose the book The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. This book, in my opinion was very good. It was always filled with action and adventure throughout. I chose this book because a couple of my friends recommended it to me and I decided to get it. I think that this book is very worthy to be on the Abe list because it is filled with action and adventure throughout the story, and it was very well written. There were very many parts of the book that had very good imagery and I could really picture the scene in my head. Also, there were a few parts in the book where I had to re-read it over again because it didn’t make sense or confused me. Overall, this was a great book and should be read by everyone!

  16. Burke Reimann, English 1, Mrs. Billie's class period 6-8 says:

    1. I choose this book because I have heard of everyone else reading this book and giving great reviews and i wanted to find out why and if they were true.
    4. I definitely enjoyed this book mainly because of the story line and the characters. The author relates to the readers and made the book irresistible.

  17. Will Moore says:

    Will Moore, English 1, Mrs. Billie’s class period 9. I chose to read the book The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. I believe that this book is worthy of being on this year’s Abe list because it was fantastic. This book was filled with action, adventure, and suspense throughout. I chose this book from the Abe list because the idea of 24 kids being thrown into a arena and fighting to the death sounded very in intriguing to me. I would definitely recommend this book to any boy or girl out there that love action.

  18. Sean O'Donnell says:

    Sean O’Donnell
    Period 9
    English 1
    Mrs. Billie

    I chose the book “Boot Camp” because I love the millitary and all they do for us. I wasn’t expecting it to be about a teenager in a camp, but it was a good book nonetheless. It had a good plot and an amazing ending. But the begining of the book is slow. The charecter traits all fit together and all of the charecters have a different chemistry. At the end of the book I read a conculsion. It said that these “boot camps” are real and the tortures are true. I couldn’t belive it. I would highly recomend this book to all teens that are looking for a book jammed with action!

  19. George Kovar says:

    George Kovar
    Mrs.Billie English 1 P.9

    I read the Hunger GAmes by Suzanne Collins I chose this book because many people were reading and they had recommend it to me.I also chose this book because it seemed interesting after the fist two chapters.I liked this book because it got right to the point it dint really have any setbacks. I also thought it was good because of the authors style the way she writes it just kept me flipping the pages for more and more.

  20. Sean Neveril says:

    Sean Neveril, English 1, Mrs. Billie’s class period 4-5. I chose the book The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, because I’ve heard so many good things about the book. Almost everybody that I have talked to who has read the book, has highly recommended me to read it. I love this book, and think that it is a very interesting, suspenseful story. There is a reason that it has sold over 1.5 million copies, and is being made into an awesome movie. I believe that this book is 100% worthy of being on the Abe list, and it should, in my opinion, be read by every young adult who can get their hands on it.

  21. Thomas Ives, English 1, Mrs. Billie's class period 6/8. says:

    I chose to read Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins beacause I have heard lots of great rewiews for my peers. The book started out a little slow and I almost didn’t stick with it. But I stuck with it and it turned out to be a great book that was well worth reading. I thought that it was a splendid read because there was a lot of suspense and action thoughout the entier novel. It also apeals to all different age groups. I was very pleased with Hunger Games, and Suzanne Collins did a great job. Hunger Games deffintly earned its spot on the Abe Lincon list and I loved it.

  22. Jackson Hopper, English I, Mrs. Billie's 4/5 says:

    I chose to read The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. I chose this book for several reasons. Many of my friends said this book was good, and that I should read it. My mom had also just bought and read the book, and she said that it was very good. I think that this book was worthy of being on last year’s Abe list. It was one of the best books I have ever read. It was exciting and was very interesting. I think that most teen’s would be interested in this book. The books that are best for teens are the books that should be on this list, and I believe that this is one of the few books that almost all teens would like. That is why this book was picked, and I think that it deserved to make it on to the list

  23. John Duggan English 1 Period 9 says:

    Jack Duggan: English 1, Period 9

    1. I chose this book because the librarian did a really good job of giving a summary of this book.

    2. I do relate to the main character Cody because he is a football player and I am also one.

    3. This book should be in this years Abe List because it had me on the edge of my seat the whole time.

    4. I do like this book because it has a lot of twist and a surprise at the end.

  24. Claire Cornell says:

    Claire Cornell 4/5 English. I chose the book Artichoke’s heart because I liked the picture on the front of the book honestly. It ended up being a really good book and kept me reading the whole time. Any girl my age would like this book i guarantee. I think this book deserves to be on the Abe list because it was a well written book that could relate to a lot of girls in high school. Overall, i would recommend this to all girls in high school but not boys.

  25. Jenna Abi-Mansour says:

    Jenna Abi-Mansour, English 1, Mrs.Billie class period 6-8
    I read the book Just Listen by Sarah Dessen. It is an amazing story about a girl with a hard social and family life who finds love. It was worthy of being on the Abe list because if you read the book, you would find youself not being able to put it down. I enjoyed the book because throughout the novel there are many twists and turns that are unexpected. Although there are a few boring parts, it keeps you entertained most of the time. I highly recommend the book Just Listen by Sarah Dessen for anyone looking for a good love story.

  26. jacob scodro says:

    Jacob Scodro, English 1, Mrs.Billie’s class period 9. I chose to read Boot Camp by Todd Strasser because it seemed to be more interesting then the other books on the list we could choose to read from. The reason for this is because the title captivated me and the summary on the back of the book made me want to see what would happen to the characters. Fortunately I could not relate to any of the characters in the book. The characters with the exception four of them are selfish and arrogant. The other three main characters, I could not relate to because of their story and how the experience affected them.

  27. Alex Pineiro says:

    Alex Pineiro, English 1, Mrs. Billie’s class period 6/8. I chose the Hunger games by Suzanne Collins because many people have been suggesting to read it and they said it was a very great book. I also wanted to read it because I decided i wanted to read it before watching the movie. I agree that this is a very good book. It has so many details, an interesting plot, and suspensful parts that make you want to keep reading.

  28. Robert Streit (Mrs. Billie's Period 4/5 English 1 Class) says:

    I read The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins (one of the 2011 Abe Lincoln Books). The two main reasons for my choosing this book are that I already had it, and I have heard great things about it ever since it was published in 2008. I can’t say that I really relate to the characters in the book. My only similarity to the main character, Katniss, is that I am also a teenager. There is a big gap between Katniss and I because she is growing up in what is essentially poverty, where she struggles to find food daily, and I am fortunate that I have three meals that I mostly take for granted. I definitely think this book is worthy of being on the Abe Lincoln Book List because for once, I actually enjoyed the book I was reading and didn’t feel as if I was being forced to read it. I very much enjoyed the book because it was a very unique topic and had many unexpected twists and turns that made it an interesting read.

  29. Andrew Fallon says:

    Andrew Fallon, English 1, Mrs. Billie 4-5. I read the book The Compound by S.A Bodeen because it sounded like a good book and i have heard good things about it from other people that have read it. I thought this book was okay but not the best. It was a little confusing but other than that it was a good read. I think this book deserved to be on the Abe Lincoln list because the author did a great gob of putting the reader in the main characters shoes.

  30. clare keegan says:

    I decided to read the book, The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, because I was recommended it by a friend. I think that I relate mostly to Prim, Katniss’s sister, because I would not feel comfortable with hunting like Katniss and I care about the well-being of other people. I definitely think this book is worthy of reading because it was very well written, and I could not put it down. I loved this book because it showed romance and lots of action. I also loved how the author set this book in the future because it makes you think about what could happen to our world.

  31. Sam Blythe says:

    Sam Blythe, Mrs. Biliies English Class, 4/5. I read the hunger games. iit was a very good book. i chose to read it because i heard it was very good and that it had action. I think it was very worthy of being on the abe list. I hate reading but this book was very susepensful and i actually enojed reading it.

Leave a Reply

