Carter Finally Gets It by Brent Crawford

Posted: April 6, 2011 in Uncategorized

Will Carter, “Carter” to his friends and classmates, is starting high school. He’s excited, anxious, worried, and determined to start high school off right. The only problem is everything he’s doing, he’s doing wrong!  Join Carter for his freshman year, where he’ll search for  love and acceptance anywhere he can find it.  In the process, he’ll almost kill a trombone player, face off against his greatest nemesis, get caught up in a messy love triangle, suffer a lot of blood loss, narrowly escape death, run from the cops (not once, but twice), meet his match in the form of a curvy drill teamer, and surprise everyone, including himself.  With the help of his friends, dogged determination, and a wise sister who’ll help him stumble through his freshman year, Will finds his first love, faces down the school bully, and learns who he really is.

Comments
  1. Angie Nasca says:

    1. Why did you choose this book?
    – I chose this book because I love comedy, and I felt that I would enjoy the plot. I also thought it would be cool if I could relate my freshman year to Carter’s freshman year.

  2. Angie Nasca says:

    2) Do you relate to the characters in your book? Why or why not?
    I can relate to a lot of the characters in the book, because the way they all act and their environment throughout the book reminds me of an ordinary day at Hinsdale Central.

    3) Do you think it was worthy of being on this year’s Abe list? Tell us why.
    The book overall was good, but I don’t think it was worth being on the Abe List because I’ve read better books, and I feel that this book would relate more to actual freshman instead of juniors or seniors.

    4) Tell us why you did or did not like the book.
    I liked the book, because some of the things Carter did throughout the book actually made me laugh out loud, but there were times where I didn’t want to finish the book because it was sort of boring. I also felt that in the last 100 pages or so the author really sped things up; he focused mainly on the first quarter of Carter’s freshman year, and after that the rest of the year was sort of a blur.

  3. Blake Hately says:

    I chose this book because the librarian helped me pick it out because i was looking for a humorous book to read. So he gave me some options and i chose this book. Later that week i found out i needed a Abe Lincon book and this book happened to be on that list. I could really relate to Carter. He was going into freshman year and playing football. Carter was really not ready for highshool but he did his best.

  4. Jack Breslin says:

    Jack Breslin, English 1. Period 4-5

    2.) I definitely could relate. Me being able to relate was the reason I liked this book so much because Carter’s life is very much like mine. I honestly was amazed at how much his life was like mine, and it made this story very interesting for me.
    4.) I definitely liked the book. I’m usually not much of a reader but this book was a major exception i really liked it. It was really funny, had a great plot, kept you interested, and most importantly in my opinion very relatable.

Leave a Reply

