Beastly by Alex Flinn

Posted: April 6, 2011 in Uncategorized

A beast. Not quite wolf or bear, gorilla or dog but a horrible new creature who walks upright—a creature with fangs and claws and hair springing from every pore. I am a monster.

You think I’m talking fairy tales? No way. The place is New York City. The time is now. It’s no deformity, no disease. And I’ll stay this way forever—ruined—unless I can break the spell.

Yes, the spell, the one the witch in my English class cast on me. Why did she turn me into a beast who hides by day and prowls by night? I’ll tell you. I’ll tell you how I used to be Kyle Kingsbury, the guy you wished you were, with money, perfect looks, and the perfect life. And then, I’ll tell you how I became perfectly . . . beastly.


Comments
  1. Nina Nuesslein says:

    I chose the book Beastly because I felt like I cuold relate to that book the most compared to all the other avaliable books. The libririans alos told me that this book would be a quick and easy read. I saw the movie, Beastly a little while ago and I really liked it. Im hoping I will like the book more because they always say that the book is better than the movie.

    Nina Nuesslein
    English 3 Saunders pr 1.

  2. Laura Gurke says:

    Why did you choose this book from the ABE list?
    I chose this book from the ABE book list because I heard it was a really good book. My sister read it and she really enjoyed it. My sister and I are very alike, so I wanted to see if I will like the book as much as she did. I also just recently saw the movie. I loved the movie, I thought it was great. I am hoping I enjoy this book because I hear books are always better than the movies.
    Laura Gurke Period 1

  3. Emily Chang/ Saunders/ Period 1 says:

    I chose this book because some people have asked me if I had read it and I haven’t yet, so when I read the summary I thought that the book would be kind of like Beauty and the Beast. Since the title said Beastly and it was from the Beast’s point of view instead of the Beauty’s point of view. Which sounds very interesting to me. I hope that I will be able to enjoy this book

    Emily Chang
    English 3 Saunders per. 1

  4. Sara Rediehs/ Saunders Period 1 says:

    The reason that I chose to read Beastly as my book was mainly because of the movie. This past summer, a couple of my friends and I rented the movie and watched it that afternoon. I really enjoyed the movie and thought it would be an interesting book to read. Also, Beastly is a modern twist on Beauty and the Beast, which was my favorite Disney movie when I was younger. Because of that, I do not think I will get bored reading it or easily distracted.

  5. Emily Chang/ Saunders/ Period 1 says:

    I can relate to the characters in the book is different because he is from high school and he has to deal with people looking at his ugliness. It is unwise to look at others just by their own looks because you don’t know who they really are. In the beginning of the story, Kyle was running as Prince for the prom dance, but he promised two girls that he would come to the dance with them. He asked Kindra, who reveals herself as a witch says that he should not have to face the fact that everybody doesn’t like him. Respecting others by their looks is not what everybody should do and not have other get hurt because of it. Kyle in the story is one who respects people by their looks and hurt others when he didn’t know who they really actually are. Kyle learns about what it feels like to be ugly and not have everybody be accept him , but be accepted for having one person to love. Having other get your respect, goes through hard work and not what you do when you are in high school.

  6. Emily Chang/ Saunders/ Period 1 says:

    The book ‘Beastly’ is worthy to be on this year’s Abe list. This book is also based on a Disney classic and that it is about how a rich kid turns ugly. In Beauty and the Beast, the prince of the castle turns into a beast making everybody in the castle turn into objects in the castle. The book also points out to the themes that beauty and the beast had too. People who like to read classics should also read ‘Beastly’ because it is kind of the same thing, but ‘Beastly’ is a modern time then Beauty and the Beast. When disappearing from the world, you hear what others have to say about you. Then the person who you have been with have been now is mean to you about how much you have done all of these years. This book is all about high school students who don’t know what others are thinking and what it feels like to betray others.

  7. Sara Rediehs/ Saunders Period 1 says:

    So far into the book Beastly, I do not really relate to any of the characters. This may be because so far there is really only one fully developed character, Kyle. Since he was transformed into a “human monster”, he has not associated with too many people. All of the people isolate him or he isolates himself from them due to his fear of what they will think of him. I do not relate with Kyle because of the way he looks at life. According to Kyle, in order to get anywhere in life, one must look good. Looks are everything. If you do not look good, you automatically mean nothing to him. I do not blame him for this perception though since he was raised by his father, who taught Kyle that. In the future, I do believe this perception he has will change since his father left him. Also, I think he will learn his lesson through the journey as he finds love through the eyes of someone who he would once never give the time of day to.

  8. Julia Tabaczyk says:

    Julia Tabaczyk/Ms. Saunders & Ms. Madonia/ 1st Period

    a. Why did you choose this particular book from the Abe list?
    I chose to read the book, Beastly because it sounded very similar to the Disney movie Beauty and the Beast. While growing up, my world revolved around anything that had to do with Disney and reading a book that had a similar plot would be a delight.

    b. Do you relate to the characters in the book? Why or why not?
    The experiences and emotions the main character Kyle Kingsbury, went through in this book were unlike anything I have ever experienced in my life. At the beginning of the story, Kyle Kingsbury was transformed into a beast after disrespecting and belittling almost everyone he knew. The curse was put upon Kyle to show him that in order to truly respect and love someone; he has to be accepting and compassionate. I like to think that I am unlike Kyle, because I try really hard to be respectful to everyone, even if I do not like the way they act or the views they express.

    c. Do you think this book was worthy of being on this year’s Abe list? Why or why not?
    I believe that this book deserves to be on this year’s Abe list because it teaches readers valuable lessons. The first lesson is image is not everything. At the beginning of the story, Kyle Kingsbury believes he is better than everyone around him because he is pretty. Later, after being cursed with horrible looks, he realizes that personality outweighs physical attractiveness. Another valuable lesson is money cannot buy happiness. After the transformation from human to beast, Kyle spent most of his time alone in his apartment. To escape the problems he was facing he spent great sums of money on material goods. After several months, Kyle realized that if he wants to be happy he must find true love and break the curse. Readers can take away several important lessons from reading this book.

    d. Did you like the book? Why or why not?
    I enjoyed reading the book, Beastly because it was a modern spin off of one of the world’s favorite Disney classics. The author, Alex Flinn developed an entertaining, but sophisticated story that can captivate readers of any age. I highly recommend Beastly.

  9. Laura Gurke says:

    In the book Beastly, the main character Kyle is granted with an unlucky spell. A witch casted a spell on Kyle that has causes him to look like a beast. Because Kyle is now different than everyone else, he decides to stay secluded from the world and hide his house. I do not think that I can relate to any of the characters in this book. The only main thing that I can relate with Kyle is that we are both high school students. One thing that I really disagree with Kyle was his initial idea on people. Kyle said at the beginning of the book that looks are the only thing that matter. I do not agree with this at all. I think that in order to know someone, you need to talk to them and get to know how they act as a person, and get to understand their personality. Kyle thinks that looks are the only way to know someone and if you look good you fit in. I disagree and think someone needs to know the inside of a person like their feelings rather than their looks.

    Laura Gurke Saunders 1

  10. Tori Krug says:

    I chose this book because of all the books on the this seemed to interest me the most. It had the humor, romance, and drama that I love all in this one book. Also, I liked the fact that I could identify with the teenage girl in the book. It made the book a lot more relatable.

    The book was very enchanting, but if I could change one this it would be how long it took for the book to get off the ground. 141 pages in is when it started to get interesting. Other than that, I thought the book was well written, and had me hooked the entire time.

    Tori Krug
    English I
    Mrs. Billie’s 6/8 class period

  11. Hannah Peterson/ Billie period 4/5 says:

    I chose this book to read because it sounded very interesting, and I had seen the movie, so i wanted to read the book.

    I do not relate to the main character in this book, Kyle in the beginning. He is concided and cruel towards others, therefore, he gets turned into a beast. Although, at the end, when he finds true love, he changes back.

    I think this book was worthy of being on the Abe Lincoln book list because it was very interesting and suspenceful, it also had some humor. There was a good lesson in this book as well.

    I really liked this book, especially because there’s a movie of it too, except it’s so different, and not at all how i visualize the characters in my mind.

  12. Milana Bajic, Billie Period 4/5 says:

    1.) Before I read the book, I chose it because I’ve already seen the movie and it was really good so I thought this would be a great way to compare the two. Also, I read the back cover and it sounded the most interesting out of all the books, so i chose this one.

    4.) I really liked this book because it was very descriptive and when I started reading, I couldn’t stop. I would definitely recommend this book to any girl that likes love stories, or action stories because this one has a little bit of both. It was an amazing book.

  13. Laura Culler says:

    1) Before you read the book: Why did you choose this particular book from the Abe list?
    I choose this book because the plot sounds very interesting to me. I also saw that there is a movie out about the book so i thought it would be good to read the book then check out the movie.

    2) While you are reading the book: Do you relate to the characters in your book? Why or why not?
    I can kind of relate to the characters because of everything that the kids in the book go through. The school in the book reminds me a lot of Hinsdale Central just because they are rich kids and a lot of them only care about looks. The plot is based around not judging a book by its cover and i think its a great book to be able to relate to it and share some of the same feelings as some of the characters.

    3) Once you have finished the book, share your opinion: Do you think it was worthy of being on this year’s Abe list? Tell us why.
    I believe its worth being on the Abe list because a lot of the plot has to do with rich high school kids which is perfect for Hinsdale Students to read because sometimes people get too wrapped up in money and looks and tend to not care about the inner person. I think this book would be easily relatable to the average teenager because a lot of teens are going through the same things.

    4) Tell us why you did or did not like the book. It’s OK to say you don’t like a book, but please use appropriate language.
    I really enjoyed the book. At first i was a little skeptical because is it kind of a cliche plot but once i started it i could not put it down because i could not find out fast enough what was going to happen to the main character Kyle. I can’t wait to see the movie after reading this book and comparing the two.

  14. Laura Gurke says:

    Do you think this book was worthy of being on the Abe List?

    I do think this book was worthy of being on the list. This book was not just a book to read for fun, but a book that taught a life lesson. In the book, Kyle turns into a beast. He then needs to find someone who will love him for what he is on the inside, rather than looks on the outside. In life, I think that people should love someone for who they are, not what they look like. This is important because looks are not everything. Being who you are will get you the farther in life. You can go through being who you are and not having to pretend. Kyle did this in Beastly because he was himself when he was trying to get the girl to love him. He succeeded and lived a happy life. This book was a love story and was enjoyable to read. It also taught a lesson that I think is very important. That is why I think this book was worthy of being on the Abe List.

  15. Sara Rediehs/ Saunders Period 1 says:

    Blog Comment Number 3:

    I do think that this book was worthy of being on the Abe list. Books on the Abe list are supposed to represent books for teens that capture their mind and attention span. Personally, I normally do not enjoy reading and have a hard time focusing on the text. But, with this book, I was able to keep my full attention. I think it was the writing style that captivated me. I felt like I was inside the main character’s head, thinking and feeling the same as him. For keeping someone’s attention who normally does not like to read, I feel like that must make this book a non-stop read for those who do enjoy reading. This, I feel, makes “Beastly” deserve the title of an Abe award, as it represents teens well.

  16. Angie Nasca says:

    1) Before you read the book: Why did you choose this particular book from the Abe list?

    I chose this book because I had watched the movie before I even knew that it was based off of this book, so I wanted to read it to see how it compared to the hollywood version; and, of course, it was much better.

    2) While you are reading the book: Do you relate to the characters in your book? Why or why not?

    I personally don’t think that I can relate to Kyle’s beliefs in the book about how being beautiful is the best thing you could be, but it definitely does remind me of Hinsdale Central because the students here all care about looks and always try to look their best.

    3) Once you have finished the book, share your opinion: Do you think it was worthy of being on this year’s Abe list? Tell us why.

    I believe this book is worth being on the Abe list because it’s very entertaining to read. Throughout the book you want to know what Kyle’s next attempt to becoming normal is, and you never know how desperate he’ll become to make a girl fall in love with him. Plus, I enjoyed seeing the changes in Kyle’s personality throughout the story, and I loved the online chats between the other fairy tale creatures, and how each story had its own modern twist to it.

    4) Tell us why you did or did not like the book. It’s OK to say you don’t like a book, but please use appropriate language.

    I really enjoyed the book. The writing wasn’t the best, but the imagination definitely was breathtaking to me. I loved the modern twist to the story, and how the author was able to relate the story to teenagers today. Once the book ended I really wanted to know what would happen to Kyle now that he’s changed.

  17. Lexi Fell says:

    1) i read this book awhile back and i wasn’t quite interested in it. I saw the movie over the summer and it was a good movie. When i saw that this book was on the abe list i figured i should try reading it again and see if it interests me now.

    2) I can relate to this book in the sense that the high school in the book is similar to Hinsdale Central. There are cliches in the book just like at central. Also, the book is all about apperance and judging people on first impressions and unforchantly judging people by first impressions is very common at central

    3) I do not think this book deserves to be on the abe list. Although this book was good and all at times it was hard for me to follow and carry on with the plot line.

    4) I liked the format of the book it made it a very quick read. I like the story and plot line behind the book a lot! I like how it is mainly about not judging people on certain flaws or apperences. This book was an easy read and emjoyable. I wish there was some things that were different however. I wasn’t quite a fan of what he was turned into. However, the book was very creative and that made it really interesting.

Leave a Reply

