Flash Burnout by L.K. Madigan

Posted: April 4, 2011 in Uncategorized
Fifteen-year-old Blake has a girlfriend and a friend who’s a girl. One of them loves him; the other one needs him.
 
When he snapped a picture of a street person for his photography homework, Blake never dreamed that the woman in the photo was his friend Marissa’s long-lost meth addicted mom. Blake’s participation in the ensuing drama opens up a world of trouble, both for him and for Marissa. He spends the next few months trying to reconcile the conflicting roles of Boyfriend and Friend. His experiences range from the comic (surviving his dad’s birth control talk) to the tragic (a harrowing after-hours visit to the morgue).
 
In a tangle of life and death, love and loyalty, Blake will emerge with a more sharply defined snapshot of himself.
Comments
  1. Maggie Jablonski English 3 Saunders Period 2 says:

    2) I don’t relate to the characters in this book very much. Blake has two parents that have full time jobs. My dad is the only one who works and my mom is a stay at home mom. He also has an older brother. I am the oldest child so i don’t really relate to having an older sibling. I don’t relate to Marissa either. She lives with her grandma. While I am close with one of my grandmas I don’t see her on a completely regular basis. I only somewhat relate to Blake’s girlfriend because we both play soccer

  2. Donovan Keen, English 1,Mrs Billie's class period 9 says:

    Picked it up because it was one of few that interested me.Was a pretty good book, but can’t relate about the book itself. Most of this doesn’t really happen in high school as far as I know. And Blake’s thought and obsessions kinda weird me out. For a while the book is interesting, looses interest then picks it right up again. Wouldn’t give it first place, but can see it being a runner up, because it didn’t connect to me as well as i’d hoped. Would like to know what else happens to Marissa in the end. Bit of a cliff hanger and hope they make another.

Leave a Reply

